Skip to content
New accounts need approval after registration for access!

Catholic life

Catholic crosses

by Danijel Dubljevic 11 Feb 2023

Catholic crosses are an important symbol of the Catholic faith, representing the love and sacrifice of Jesus Christ. Catholics worldwide use the sign of the cross to express their devotion to their religion and to remember the crucifixion of Jesus. We will take a closer look at the history and significance of the Christ Cross and the different types and styles of crosses commonly used by Catholics today.

The basic form of the cross has two equal-length beams, one vertical and one horizontal. This simple design has been used by Christians for centuries to represent Jesus' death and has been transformed over time into different shapes. One of the most common forms of the cross is the crucifix, which depicts the crucified Jesus on the cross. This type of cross is often used in Catholic churches and Orthodox churches. 

Going back to antiquity, the Catholic Church has used the crucifix; so have the Orthodox and Eastern Churches. The bare cross emerged in the 16th century among the Calvinists, who emphasized simplicity in liturgy and architecture.

The use of a crucifix is rooted in Catholic tradition and is based on the accounts of the crucifixion of Jesus as described in the Holy Scriptures. The crucifixion is seen as the ultimate demonstration of God's love for humanity, as Jesus was willing to suffer and die for the salvation of all people. The crucifix is a powerful reminder of this love and sacrifice and a symbol of hope and comfort.

Another popular form of the Catholic cross is the wall cross, which is often displayed in homes, schools, and churches. These crosses are usually made of metal, wood, or other materials and come in various styles and sizes. Wooden crosses are typically hung on a wall and serve as a reminder of the presence of Jesus in the home and as a symbol of the Catholic faith.

In addition to the crucifix and the wall cross, many other styles of crosses are used by Catholics today. One of the most recognizable is the tau cross, shaped like the letter T. This type of cross is named after the Greek letter tau, which was used to symbolize the cross in the early days of Christianity. The tau cross is often used to indicate the risen Christ, a popular form of a cross for personal devotion. It is also known as Saint Anthony the Abbot cross or Crux Commissar. The Tau cross is a particular type of Cross reserved for a Catholic saint known as Saint Anthony.

Another popular form of the Catholic cross is the Greek cross, which has four equal-length beams arranged to form a cross shape. This cross is often used to symbolize the equal balance of God's love and compassion and is often used in Catholic art and architecture. Marian Cross is a term invented to refer to Pope John Paul II's combination of a Latin cross and the letter M, representing Mary's presence on Calvary.

The maltese cross is another popular form of the cross, and it is named after the Knights Hospitaller, who were known for their work in caring for the sick and injured. The maltese cross has eight points, which symbolize the eight beatitudes of Jesus. The Maltese cross is often used to indicate the greater love and compassion that Jesus had for all people, and it is a famous symbol for Catholic charities and organizations.

A Celtic cross is a unique form of the cross that is especially popular among Catholics of Irish descent. This type of cross has interlocking circles that symbolize the eternal nature of God's love and are often used to represent the interconnectedness of all things.

The upside down cross is a form of the cross that is sometimes used to represent the crucifixion, and it is also used to symbolize the rejection of traditional Christian beliefs. This cross is not commonly used in Catholic churches, but individuals sometimes use it as a personal symbol of their faith.

The Jerusalem Cross is a symbol of Christianity used for centuries. It consists of a large cross with four smaller ones in each quadrant. The design is said to represent the spread of Christianity from Jerusalem to the four corners of the world. The cross is often used as a symbol of the Crusades and is commonly associated with the Kingdom of Jerusalem. It is also seen as a symbol of the unity of the four Gospels and the five wounds of Christ during the crucifixion. The Jerusalem Cross can be found in many forms, including jewelry, stained glass windows, and tapestries. Today, it continues to be a famous symbol of faith and devotion for Christians worldwide.

Check our selection today and choose a small, holy, or wall cross as a great Christian gift. We make our crosses, so we always have them available. Our artisans do the best work, and with various styles available, I'm sure you will find the ideal Cross of Jesus Christ for you!

930 x 520px


Sample Block Quote

Praesent vestibulum congue tellus at fringilla. Curabitur vitae semper sem, eu convallis est. Cras felis nunc commodo eu convallis vitae interdum non nisl. Maecenas ac est sit amet augue pharetra convallis.

Sample Paragraph Text

Praesent vestibulum congue tellus at fringilla. Curabitur vitae semper sem, eu convallis est. Cras felis nunc commodo eu convallis vitae interdum non nisl. Maecenas ac est sit amet augue pharetra convallis nec danos dui. Cras suscipit quam et turpis eleifend vitae malesuada magna congue. Damus id ullamcorper neque. Sed vitae mi a mi pretium aliquet ac sed elitos. Pellentesque nulla eros accumsan quis justo at tincidunt lobortis deli denimes, suspendisse vestibulum lectus in lectus volutpate.
Prev Post
Next Post

Thanks for subscribing!

This email has been registered!

Shop the look

Choose Options

Recently Viewed

Edit Option
Back In Stock Notification
Terms & Conditions
What is Lorem Ipsum? Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum. Why do we use it? It is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content of a page when looking at its layout. The point of using Lorem Ipsum is that it has a more-or-less normal distribution of letters, as opposed to using 'Content here, content here', making it look like readable English. Many desktop publishing packages and web page editors now use Lorem Ipsum as their default model text, and a search for 'lorem ipsum' will uncover many web sites still in their infancy. Various versions have evolved over the years, sometimes by accident, sometimes on purpose (injected humour and the like).
this is just a warning
Shopping Cart
0 items

Before you leave...

Take 20% off your first order

20% off

Enter the code below at checkout to get 20% off your first order


Continue Shopping